Clinton Township Resident Selected for Scholarship

CLINTON TOWNSHIP – The Officer Collin Rose Memorial Foundation is excited to announce its second annual scholarship recipients.

Matthew Palmer of Clinton Township was selected for one of the organization’s scholarships. The $500.00 award honors the late Wayne State University Police Officer Collin Rose. He was murdered on a street investigation in Detroit in November 2016. He was pursuing a master’s degree from the university at the time of his death.

“I am truly honored to receive this award,” Palmer said. “Having my name affiliated with the Officer Collin Rose Memorial Foundation is a defining moment in my educational and law enforcement careers.”

Palmer, 25, said the scholarship will help him offset the cost of tuition at Madonna University where he is pursuing a bachelor’s degree in criminal justice.

“I will carry this announcement with me for the rest of my life with pride and honor,” he said. “I appreciate everything the Foundation is doing to support students like myself and law enforcement.”

Palmer maintains a 3.66 grade point average while working fulltime as a police officer at Richmond Police Department. He plans to continue working as a police officer and aims to become chief of police.

Foundation President Chris Powell said their organization received more than 20 applications from deserving students around the state for its second annual scholarship. Applicants submitted essays, letters of recommendations and transcripts for consideration. Palmer was selected following a review by the organization’s 13-member scholarship and awards committee with input from the Rose family.

“Our committee was impressed with Officer Palmer and his dedication to service,” Powell said. “He is a driven student and an asset to the community of Richmond. We’re honored to help further his education and look forward to celebrating his successes.”

The Foundation also selected Grace Novak of Royal Oak and Matthew Palmer of Clinton Township for scholarships. Scholarship renewals were also awarded to prior recipients Jacob Fournier of Chesterfield and Michael Cracchiolo of South Lyon.

For more information on the scholarship, visit